Skip to content

The VEWH is an independent statutory body established in 2011 under Victoria’s Water Act 1989 as an ‘accountable, independent guardian’ to transparently manage environmental water entitlements.

The VEWH decides where, when and how water is to be used in Victoria, including water deliveries, carrying water over from one year to the next, or trading water to get the most benefit for rivers, wetlands and floodplains.


  • commits water and authorises waterway managers to carry out watering decisions
  • works with program partners to achieve environmental outcomes from all water delivery
  • publicly communicates environmental watering decisions and results
  • works with DEECA and other partners on complementary works, knowledge gathering and sharing, monitoring and research to strengthen the effects of environmental watering
  • coordinates with waterway manager partners to identify where water for the environment can support social, recreational and Aboriginal cultural values and uses of rivers and wetlands.

There are four part-time Commissioners supported by a small team of employees. As of October 2023, they are Julie Miller Markoff (Chairperson), Rohan Henry (Deputy Chairperson), Peta Maddy (Commissioner) and Tim Chatfield (Commissioner).

Our Mission and Commissioners




Accessibility statement



To contact the Victorian Environmental Water Holder call (03) 9637 8951 or email

8 Nicholson St

PO Box 500
East Melbourne 3002

Page last updated: 01/07/22