Skip to content

Our mission


Water for healthy waterways valued by communities

Organisation mission

Our environment: We work with program partners to preserve and improve the environmental values and health of water ecosystems across Victoria through robust decisions about water for the environment.

Our communities: We engage communities across Victoria about water for the environment and improve waterway uses that depend on environmental condition.

Our culture: We are aligned with our business direction, proud of our performance and own a culture centred on collaboration, integrity, commitment and initiative.

We do this by preparing a seasonal watering plan each financial year. This scopes where, when, how and why environmental water can  be used across Victoria's rivers, wetlands and floodplains.

See our annual report for details of the Victorian Environmental Water Holder's activities and financial performance. You can also read our corporate plan and 10 Year Strategy 2023-2033.

Reflections is published each year and explains the achievements of environmental watering across Victoria.

Commissioners and CEO

The Victorian Environmental Water Holder  has four part-time Commissioners appointed by Governor in Council, on recommendation of the Minister for Water.

The Commissioners are supported by a small, dedicated team, led by Chief Executive Officer, Dr Sarina Loo.

Learn more about our Commissioners and CEO here:

Julie Miller Markoff (Chairperson)

Julie is a non-executive director and chairperson with extensive experience managing complex business transformation for better community outcomes in environmental, social and economic development. Her expertise combines strong governance with progressive systems thinking, collaboration and leadership for change that delivers collective value.

As Chair of the North Central Catchment Management Authority from 2017-2023 Julie focused on sustainable, climate-responsive investments in natural resource management, creating shared benefits from environmental water, supporting First Nations self-determination, and deepening community partnerships to care for catchments. A Director since 2013, she has chaired the Regional Catchment Strategy Steering Committee, the Audit and Risk Subcommittee and advisory Community Consultative Committee.

Julie was co-founder and Chair of the bHive Co-operative that began operating in Bendigo as Australia’s first platform cooperative for local places to connect, own and share their digital economy and keep equity and profit local.  She has been Chair of Heathcote Health and has designed and established strategic plans with regional executives and communities for Regional Development Australia and Regional Development Victoria.

Julie has a Master’s Degree in Applied Science (Innovation) and is an Advanced Analytic Network Leadership Coach and member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors

Julie Miller Markoff
Julie Miller Markoff

Rohan Henry (Deputy Chairperson)

Rohan is an experienced strategic adviser working across state and national water policy, with more than 20 years’ involvement in environmental impact assessments and approvals.

He’s a skilled Indigenous engagement and facilitation practitioner with significant experience collaborating and partnering with Aboriginal Corporations and their communities. He has an applied understanding of water, marine and coastal-related policy, programs and approvals and the critical interactions these have with Traditional Owner groups and their communities.

Rohan is currently Co-Chair of the Self-Determination Fund Limited (Trustee of the Self-Determination Fund), a Non-Executive Director of South East Water Corporation, and a Director of One-Basin Cooperative Research Centre. He also holds positions as Deputy Chair of the Committee on Aboriginal and Torres Strait Water Interests, is a member on the Commonwealth Government’s Indigenous Advisory Committee and is Chair of the Maribyrnong Integrated Water Management Forum.

Rohan Henry
Rohan Henry

Peta Maddy (Commissioner)

Peta has a background in water policy and strategy setting, governance and water engineering.

Peta is a non-executive director at Barwon Water (Chair, Audit Committee) and Barwon Asset Solutions (Chair). She is also an independent member of the Risk and Audit Committee at Surf Coast Shire Council. She is a past President of the Victorian branch of the Australian Water Association and was previously a non-executive director at Southern Rural Water (Chair, Asset Governance) and Grampians Wimmera Mallee Water (Chair of the inaugural Water Resources Committee).

In 2018, she chaired the interdepartmental reference group for the Victorian Rural Drainage Strategy and was a member of the Victorian Catchment Management Council for six years. Peta has a Bachelor of Chemical Engineering (honours), a Bachelor of Science (Pharmacology and Toxicology) and is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors

Peta Maddy

Tim Chatfield (Commissioner)

Tim has led many organisations in making sustainable change for Indigenous communities across housing, health, culture and wellbeing, and in economic development through generating employment and building workforce skills, knowledge and training. He is a Gunditjmara Traditional Owner and a Djabwurrung Elder Traditional Owner.

Tim has extensive experience as an executive and non-executive director and chairperson. His experience embraces leadership, strategy, corporate governance, business management, developing culturally appropriate policies and processes towards self-determination, and advice to Victorian and Australian governments.

Between 2017 and 2023, Tim was an Independent Director to First Super Pty Ltd and Chair of the Board’s Audit and Finance Committee. For the past 20 years he has been Chairperson of Aboriginal Housing Victoria, the only Aboriginal housing organisation in Australia accredited as a housing association, and he is founder and CEO of Budja Budja Aboriginal Cooperative, an innovative primary health care service, GP and community health clinic in the Gariwerd/Grampians National Park. He is also Chairperson and CEO of Martang Pty Ltd, a community-based company and farming operation.

Tim Chatfield
Tim Chatfield

Dr Sarina Loo (Chief Executive Officer)

Dr Sarina Loo is the Chief Executive Officer of the Victorian Environmental Water Holder.

She joined the VEWH in 2017. Previously, she was a senior public servant at the Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning in Victoria for over 10 years. Her areas of expertise include environmental water management, policy and strategy development, investment, monitoring, evaluation, reporting and governance in the areas of waterway health and catchment management.

Sarina has been a lecturer of sustainability at Swinburne University of Technology and an independent consultant to government and private business. She is a passionate contributor to the work of the Peter Cullen Trust, having been a graduate of the Leadership Program, a Board Director, and having established and Chaired the National Fellows Network and established the Women in Water Leadership Program.

Sarina has a Bachelor of Arts, a Bachelor of Science (Honours), a Doctor of Philosophy in freshwater ecology and is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Dr Sarina Loo
Dr Sarina Loo

Page last updated: 01/02/21